

Regional Transport Committee

Terms of Reference

(adopted 6 November 2019 by Hawke's Bay Regional Council and confirmed by the Regional Transport Committee on 13 December 2019)

The purpose of the Regional Transport Committee is to:

- 1. Prepare the Regional Land Transport Plan (RLTP) for approval by the Regional Council, in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003.
- 2. Prepare the Regional Public Transport Plan (RPTP) for approval by the Regional Council, in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003.
- 3. Monitor the implementation of the Regional Land Transport Plan and the Regional Public Transport Plan.
- 4. Advocate to Government on transport issues of concern to the region.
- 5. Undertake governance of RoadSafe Hawke's Bay.
- 6. Monitor passenger transport objectives and make recommendations to the Regional Council on public transport policies.
- 7. Provide the Regional Council with any advice and assistance it may request in relation to its transport responsibilities.

Members

a. Voting Members

Two elected members of the Regional Council, being:

- Councillors Martin Williams and Charles Lambert

One representative, as appointed by Council, from each of the following organisations (which are able to propose to the Committee short term replacements if they are unable to attend any meeting), being:

- Wairoa District Council: Mayor Craig Little, and Councillor Jeremy Harker as alternate
- Hastings District Council: Mayor Sandra Hazlehurst, and Councillor Tania Kerr as alternate
- Napier City Council: Councillor Keith Price and Mayor Kirsten Wise as alternate
- Central Hawke's Bay District Council: Mayor Alex Walker, and Councillor Kate Taylor as alternate
- New Zealand Transport Agency: Ms Emma Speight, and Mr Oliver Postings as alternate

b. Advisory Members (non-voting)

- New Zealand Police representing road safety
- Automobile Association (AA) representing access and mobility, including private motorists, pedestrians, cyclists and public transport users - David Murray
- Port of Napier representing the Port and coastal shipping- Emma Harford-Wright

- KiwiRail representing rail issues
- Road Transport Association NZ representing the road transport industry
 Ian Emmerson
- Cultural interests representative, also representing environmental issues –
 Api Robin (HBRC Māori Committee)
- HB District Health Board interests representative -

Chairman

One Regional Council elected member, being Councillor Martin Williams

Deputy Chairman

One Regional Council elected member, being Councillor Charles Lambert

Quorum

A quorum of the Regional Transport Committee shall be four voting members

Voting

In accordance with section 105(7) of the Land Transport Management Act 2003, at any meeting of the RTC, the Chairman, or any other legislated person presiding at the meeting:

- (a) has a deliberative vote; and
- (b) in the case of an equality of votes, does not have a casting vote (and therefore the act or question is defeated and the status quo is preserved).

Regional Council, Territorial Authority and NZ Transport Agency representative members have full speaking and voting rights on all matters

Advisory Members

Advisory members are non-voting.

The role of advisory members is to:

- Provide advice to the Regional Transport Committee on matters pertaining to their advisory portfolios, when requested by the Chair
- Report on relevant activities or events pertaining to their advisory portfolios.

Meeting Frequency

Quarterly, or as required

Staff Executive

Group Manager Strategic Planning and Transport Manager

Technical Advisory Group (TAG)

The Transport Committee considers advice relating to strategic transport issues from a Technical Advisory Group (TAG), generally comprising roading and infrastructural planning officers from NZTA and the Territorial Authorities, and is chaired by the HBRC Transport Manager. TAG members attend but do not vote at the Transport Committee meetings. TAG members may provide advice at meetings when invited to do so by the Chair