skip to main content

Representation Review

What is a Representation Review?

Hawk'e Bay Regional Coumcil is required to take a fresh look at how you are represented around the Council table at least once every six years.

We last held a representation review in 2018. The Council decision to introduce Māori constituencies earlier this year means we are required to do another review in 2021.

This could affect the total number of councillors, the numbers of constituencies, and the boundaries of constituencies.

The outcome of this Representation Review consultation will apply to the 2022 and 2025 local elections.

About the 2021 Representation Review

Hawke’s Bay Regional Council is reviewing its representation arrangements, as required by the Local Government Act.

The Council is required to make decisions on the number of representatives (councillors), and the constituency boundaries. 

On 25 August 2021, the Regional Council voted to consult on the review of representation arrangements for this Council in readiness for the 2022 electoral process.  Find out more about the options considered here.

Council resolved to make changes to its current representation arrangements and now seeks feedback from the community.

Go to our Representation Review consultation


Anyone can make written submissions on the Council’s representation proposal and supply no later than 8.00pm on Sunday 3 October 2021.

Submissions should be completed online here where you can also find more information about the review.

Online submissions and consultation here

or sent by email to the Electoral Officer.

Or post: Electoral Officer, Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, Private Bag 6006, Napier 4142.

Or deliver to: Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, 159 Dalton Street, Napier - attn. Electoral Officer.
(This option is only available from COVID-19 Alert Level 2.)

Hawke’s Bay Regional Council Representation

For the 2022 and 2025 elections, the Council's proposal is to comprise eleven Councillors - elected from five constituencies, with two new Māori constituencies:

  • one councillor elected by the electors of Mohaka-Wairoa Constituency 
  • three councillors elected by the electors of Ahuriri-Napier Constituency
  • one councillor elected by the electors of Ngaruroro Constituency
  • three councillors elected by the electors of Heretuanga-Hastings Constituency
  • one councillor elected by the electors of Tamatea-Central Hawke’s Bay Constituency
  • two councillors elected by Māori roll electors, one in each of the two new Māori constituencies.


The names and boundaries of each of the five constituencies as depicted on the map following are:
  • Mohaka - Wairoa Constituency
  • Ahuriri - Napier Constituency
  • Ngaruroro Constituency
  • Heretaunga - Hastings Constituency
  • Tamatea - Central Hawke’s Bay Constituency

 For more information please contact the Electoral Officer here.




Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /