skip to main content

Regional Council Election Results

Find out the results of the 2016 and forthcoming 2019 elections

2019 Elections Results

We will be publishing the election results for Hawke's Bay Regional Council local body elections on this page. Election results will be available on 17 October 2019.

2016 Election Results

Triennial Election-Declaration of Final Results

These are the final results for the Regional Council elections held on Saturday 8th October 2016.

In accordance with section 86 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, I hereby declare the final result of the triennial local body election held on 8 October 2016 conducted under the First Past the Post electoral system.

Central Hawke’s Bay Constituency – 1 Vacancy

Debbie Hewitt Leading the way for Central Hawke's Bay 4,200
Elderkamp, Dan   1,598
Informal    1
Blank voting documents    204

Debbie Hewitt is declared elected.

The voter return percentage was 62.56%, being 5,939 ordinary votes.

Napier Constituency - 3 vacancies

Kirton, Neil   11,425
Dick, Alan    9,217
Bailey, Paul Independent 8,846
Williams, Martin   7,606
Irving, Moira    5,734
Informal    20
Blank voting documents    727

Paul Bailey, Alan Dick and Neil Kirton are declared elected.

The voter return percentage was 43.82%, being 18,775 ordinary votes.

Hastings Constituency - 3 vacancies

Graham, Rex 10,168
Barker, Rick 9,007
Belford, Tom 8,478
Bowers, Cynthia 7,478
Gilbertson, Tim 6,820
Informal 21
Blank voting documents 803

Rick Barker, Tom Belford and Rex Graham are declared elected.

The voter return percentage was 45.27%, being 17,406 ordinary votes.

Ngaruroro Constituency – 1 Vacancy

Beaven, Peter  4,356
Ross, Dan  2,278
Informal  6
Blank voting documents  838

Peter Beaven is declared elected.

The voter return percentage for the Ngaruroro Constituency within Hastings District was 50.66%, being 7,423 ordinary votes.

Wairoa Constituency – 1 Vacancy

Wilson, Fenton Independent 1,676
Whaanga, Dean Independent  1,530
Informal    3
Blank voting documents    193

Fenton Wilson is declared elected.

The voter return percentage was 60.9%, being 3,351 ordinary votes.

Leeanne Hooper
Electoral Officer
Hawke's Bay Regional Council

14 October 2013


Hawke's Bay Regional Council - Copyright © 2019 Hawke's Bay Regional Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /