skip to main content

ConstituenciesNgā roherohenga

Check which constituency you fall into for voting.

About Hawke's Bay constituencies

The Hawke’s Bay region has seven constituencies represented by Councillors, with representation determined by the Electoral Commission New Zealand and based on population. 

  • Māui ki te Raki Māori constituency – 1 councillor
  • Māui ki te Tonga Māori constituency – 1 councillor
  • Wairoa general constituency – 1 Councillors
  • Ngaruroro general constituency – 1 Councillor
  • Ahuriri/Napier general constituency – 3 Councillors
  • Heretaunga/Hastings general constituency – 3 Councillors|
  • Tamatea/Central Hawke’s Bay general constituency - 1 Councillor
Note that voters in parts of the Taupō and Rangitikei districts that fall within the Regional Council boundaries are represented by the Ngaruroro constituency.

The region’s boundaries as a whole are determined by river catchments and the flow of water within these. 

Māori rohe pōti
Māori constituencies

In 2020-21, many local authorities resolved to establish Māori wards or constituencies for at least the 2022 and 2025 triennial elections. For the 2022 local elections there are 35 councils across the country with Māori wards or constituencies, up from only 3 previously. The ability to successfully achieve this was due to a change in legislation which removed the poll provision that could overturn council resolutions to establish Māori wards/ constituencies.

Māori wards or constituencies guarantee Māori representation on a local authority and provide for Māori participation in council decision-making.

Hawke’s Bay Regional Council resolved to introduce two new Māori constituencies for the 2022 and 2025 elections - find out more

For the Regional Council’s Māori constituencies, the following applies:

  • Only those electors on the Māori electoral roll can vote for candidates standing for a Māori constituency. Similarly, only those on the general electoral roll can vote for candidates standing for a general constituency.
  • Any eligible person can stand as a candidate for either a Māori constituency or a General constituency – to be eligible you must be a New Zealand citizen, a parliamentary elector anywhere in New Zealand and nominated by two electors registered to vote in the area you are standing in. For candidates for a Māori constituency that means that both of their nominees must be enrolled on the Māori roll in the same constituency they are standing for.
  • A person does not need to be of Māori descent or be on the Māori electoral roll to stand for a Māori constituency.

Check your constituency

Either type in your address or zoom into the map to find out which constituency your property falls in.


Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /