skip to main content

Regional Council representation review decision

Hawke’s Bay Regional Council’s proposed representation arrangements have been confirmed by the Local Government Commission.

Following consultation with the community in September 2021, the Council proposed to change the current configuration of nine councillors and five constituencies, by adding a further two Māori constituencies.

The Council considered that 11 councillors provide effective and fair representation for the identified communities of interest and electors.

As six of its seven constituencies did not comply with the fair representation criteria the Regional Council was required, under section 19V(4) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, to refer its proposal to the Commission for determination.

The Commission looked at three factors when reviewing the proposal - communities of interest, effective representation of communities of interest, and fair representation for electors.

Following its review, the Commission agreed with the proposal from the Regional Council and decided the Hawke’s Bay Region will be divided into seven constituencies:

  1. Māui ki te Raki Māori Constituency, electing one councillor
  2. Māui ki te Tonga Māori Constituency, electing one councillor
  3. Wairoa General Constituency, electing one councillor
  4. Ngaruroro General Constituency, electing one councillor 
  5. Ahuriri/Napier General Constituency, electing three councillors
  6. Heretaunaga/Hastings General Constituency, electing three councillors
  7. Tamatea/Central Hawke’s Bay General Constituency, electing one councillor.

View the Local Government Commission's full determination.

12 April 2022

Back to News Archive

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /