skip to main content

First Maori Committee meeting of the triennium

Maori Committee 040320 thumnail

The Hawke’s Bay Regional Council Maori Committee has met for the first time in the new triennium and appointed joint chairs.

The Māori Committee includes both elected councillors and 12 representatives of four of the six Ngāti Kahungunu Taiwhenua / Executive in this region. The committee makes recommendations to the Regional Council on matters of relevance affecting Māori people of the region and helps fulfil the Māori consultative undertaking of Council, particularly with regard to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti O Waitangi).

Mike Paku and Michelle McIlroy have been appointed as co-chairs for the committee.

The Committee also appointed representatives to all the Regional Council’s committees:

  • Environment & Integrated Catchment Committee Dr Roger Maaka
  • Corporate & Strategic Committee Peter Eden
  • Regional Transport Committee Api Robin
  • Hearings Commitee Dr Roger Maaka & Katairaina Kawana

The Maori Committee Co-Chairs will take turns attending the full Regional Council meetings.

Dr Roger Maaka & Michelle McIlroy have been appointed as representatives on the Environment & Integrated Catchment Committee’s Climate Change sub-committee.

4 March 2020

Back to News Archive

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /