skip to main content

Māori CommitteeTe Komiti Māori

The Māori Committee includes both elected councillors and 12 representatives of the four Ngāti Kahungunu Taiwhenua / Executive in this region. The committee makes recommendations to Council on matters of relevance affecting Māori people of the region and helps fulfil the Māori consultative undertaking of Council, particularly with regard to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti O Waitangi).

Terms of Reference 



Members: Hinewai Ormsby, Charles Lambert, Will Foley and Sophie Siers

13 representatives nominated by the Tangata Whenua, appointed at the first meeting of the Māori Committee each triennium; plus one Proxy representative nominated to attend in an appointee’s absence; being:


Ms Katarina Kawana
Mr Henare Mita
Mr Paul Kelly
Ms Teresa Smith

Wairoa Taiwhenua (Wairoa)
Wairoa Taiwhenua (Wairoa)
Kahungunu Executive (Wairoa)
Proxy (Kahungunu Executive - Wairoa)

Mr Haami Hilton
Mr Michael Paku
Mr Marei Apatu
Ms Ana Te Whaiti

Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga (Hastings)
Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga (Hastings)
Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga (Hastings)
Proxy (Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga)

Mr Paora Sciascia
Dr Roger Maaka
Ms Dianne Smith
Ms Marge Hape

Te Taiwhenua o Tamatea (Central Hawke’s Bay)
Te Taiwhenua o Tamatea (Central Hawke’s Bay)
Te Taiwhenua o Tamatea (Central Hawke’s Bay)
Proxy (Tamatea)

Mr Peter Eden
Ms Rose Hiha
Mr Api Robin
To be confirmed

Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)
Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)
Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)

Mr Baydan Barber

Ngati Kahungunu Iwi Inc.


View agendas and minutes online


Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /