skip to main content

Have your say on Hawke’s Bay’s outstanding water bodies

Hawke’s Bay is home to outstanding water bodies, and the Regional Council wants people to have their say on a plan change that aims to protect their special features.

Senior Planner Belinda Harper says the water bodies identified in proposed Plan Change 7, also known as the Outstanding Water Bodies Plan Change, have been identified by the Regional Council as being the ‘best of the best’ within the region.

“Each water body has been identified as containing a value which stands out in Hawke’s Bay, such as ecology, natural character, landscapes, geology, cultural, spiritual or recreational,” she says.  

“The plan change aims to put a framework in place to give a high level of protection to these outstanding features, now and for future generations.”

It also amends the Hawke’s Bay Regional Resource Management Plan to include a list of the region’s outstanding water bodies.

Proposed Plan Change 7 is open for public submissions, which close at 5.00pm on 28 February 2020.

Ms Harper is encouraging people to have their say.

“We want to hear from as many people, iwi and interest groups as possible. We have a six month long submission period so we want to get as much feedback as possible to really reflect the Hawke’s Bay community,” she says.

Submissions can be made on Hawke’s Bay Regional Council’s website by searching #OWB. You can download a submission form from the website, or pick one up from the Regional Council’s offices in Waipukurau, Wairoa and Napier.

If you have any questions about Proposed Plan Change 7, please contact a member of the Policy and Planning Team on 06 835 9200 or email

There are 38 outstanding water bodies proposed in the Outstanding Water Bodies Plan Change. These are: 


  • Hautapu River
  • Heretaunga Aquifer
  • Karamu River
  • Kaweka and Ruahine Ranges wetlands
  • Lake Rotoroa and Lake Rototuna (Kaweka Lakes)
  • Lake Poukawa and Pekapeka Swamp
  • Lake Tūtira (including Aropaoanui River and Papkiri Stream)
  • Lake Waikareiti
  • Lake Waikaremoana
  • Whakakī Lake – Te Paeroa lagoon – Wairau Lagoon and Wetlands
  • Lake Whatumā
  • Makirikiri Stream
  • Mangahouanga Stream
  • Maungawhio Lagoon, lower Kopuawhara River, Pukenui Dunes Wetlands
  • Mohaka River
  • Morere Springs
  • Ngamatea East Swamp


  • Ngaruroro River and Estuary
  • Nuhaka River
  • Opoutama Swamp
  • Pōrangahau River and Estuary
  • Putere Lakes
  • Ripia River
  • Ruakituri River
  • Ruataniwha Aquifer
  • Tarawera Hot Springs
  • Taruarau River
  • Te Hoe River
  • Te Paerahi River
  • Te Whanganui a Orotū (Ahuriri Estuary)
  • Tukituki River and Estuary
  • Tūtaekurī River
  • Waiau River
  • Waihua River
  • Waikaretaheke River
  • Waipawa River
  • Waipunga River
  • Wairoa River


16 September 2019

Back to News Archive

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 /